After 14 months we finally made it back to the allergist. Every time we go I get my hopes up for a good outcome. The last three times we’ve been there his wheal size has gone down. I expected it to be the same today and was hoping for the smallest size yet.

Um, yeah. That didn’t happen. Not even remotely close. His wheal size doubled to 25mm. Yes, 25 mm! That’s huge! At 16 mm they consider that a person will have a reaction 100% of the time to peanut protein. Yeah, he way surpassed that. I’m disappointed, I’m angry, I’m just plain deflated. I never expected this. I don’t know why I never did, I just didn’t.

I asked, again, about desensitization. Our allergist is not sold on it. She doesn’t feel that they have figured out a good way of doing it yet. The steps to even be considered for the trials include a skin test, blood test, and, horrifyingly, an oral challenge to prove you are allergic. I think desensitization is a great gift for the kids it works on. The problem is knowing who it will and will not work on. You just don’t know.

The good news? Peanut allergies are so publicized that more and more people are aware of it and do things they can to prevent kids from getting exposed. Restaurants are using less and less peanut-containing products. Schools are realizing that it isn’t going anywhere and more students are entering school with these allergies. All of this makes life a little easier for kids and families with peanut allergies. For that I am thankful.

Some day I would like to see a remedy for peanut allergy. Until then, we will continue doing what we can to eliminate exposure.

